Henro Day 2: Journal

3 02 2012

Originally posted on iHenro!

November 22, 2011, Day Two

  • Walking from 7:45 am to 4 pm
  • 6 temples (Anrakuji, Jurakuji, Kumadanji, Horinji, Kirihataji, and Fujidera)
  • 23.8 km
  • staying at Access Business Hotel (5,500 yen including breakfast)

A much better day today. Breakfast was early at the minshuku, and it was (partly) raw egg. Which they kindly cooked for me.

Anrakuji (No. 6)

They also gave us all a 5 yen piece (shiny) and some matches, which came in handy today. And then they drove us to the next temple! I can’t decide if that’s cheating or not, but considering the majority of people bus the whole thing and they encourage people to do it any way they want, I guess it’s okay.

Horinji (No. 9)

Today I went to temple 6 to 11. I kept running into the same people along the way, with 3 guys who were amazed at how fast I was going (not that fast really) and kept asking if I was running it. I also had a weird Oji-san talk to me at temple 7. I didn’t understand half of what he said.

Buddhas in Bibs

Between 10 and 11 had a volunteer guide latch on to me. Interesting guy. 65 and just out for a 30km stroll. Showed me the dragon on the ceiling at number 11 and pointed out that Japanese dragons only have 3 claws vs. Chinese, which have 5. He also pretty much walked me to the hotel. Except the last crucial 50 meters in which I managed to get hopelessly lost. It was hiding behind a convenience store.

Kobo Daishi at Fujidera (No. 11)

Smallest hotel I’ve ever stayed in too. More the size of a motel, but definitely a business hotel. Cold water in the shower though.😦

Maccas for dinner (meh), did some washing, repacked bag, sent some e-mails. Oh, forgot to mention Tokushima kinda smells. Lots and lots of cows living in sheds.

Little worried about tomorrow – rain and my first Henro Kogoroshi.


Actions

Information

One response

3 02 2012
Name Ron "Pathfinder" Strickland

Hi, I envy your having done this hike!

Leave a Reply

