Chim chiminey, Chim chiminey, Chim Chim Cher-ee~

25 02 2011

If I was really smart I would be able to start this blog with a rhyme to the title, but alas, I’m in no way good at rhyming (or English it seems).

Anyway.  A few weeks ago my mother and I went to Disneyland.  Now she doesn’t like fast rides at all, so we were mainly riding all the ‘children’s attractions’, which is fine with me because it was sort of a classic Disneyland visit.

I guess what started my Disney mania was a photo book my parents gave me as a child.  Mum and Dad had been to Disney in the US before I was born, and this book was from then, circa 1970’s I think.  And I loved that book.  It had photos of all the attractions, and in particular I loved looking at the photos of the Jungle Cruise, Pirates of the Caribbean, and parades.  So going to Disney and riding all the ‘classic’ attractions makes me feel like a kid again.

But I also just love going to Disneyland and soaking up the atmosphere.  World Bazaar (Main Street USA in the US) is so old-fashioned early 1900’s, which is a style I am just in love with.  It makes me feel like I’m in Mary Poppins (which is also my favourite live action Disney film).  And the details!  Disney spares no expense with details!  Nothing is too small, and that really makes you believe you are in a different world.  Ah…. Disney = love🙂

But before I bore you with gushing over Disney, the point of this post is to share some attempts at arty photos.  Before Christmas Hanako Magazine released an issue about Theme Parks for grown-ups, and some of the shots they took in Disney were very cool.  Old school/retro/arty.  Totally right up my alley.  And the one that really stuck with me was a shot of the Dumbo ride. All it really showed was the rooftops, and so that was what inspired me at Disneyland when I went with Mum.

So, without further ado, some roofs for your pleasure…

And what’s Disneyland without Mickey?  As always, more photos on flickr!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

