Brisbane Bites Take 2

31 01 2011

It’s been over a month since I returned to Japan after having a lovely few weeks in Brisbane for Christmas, and my lovely summer tan has finally disappeared under coats, scarfs and gloves. So, it’s about time I shared some photos of my Bris-Vegas adventures.

As always, a fair amount of my time was spent eating the things I don’t usually get to eat. Firstly Lauren took me to Guzman Y Gomez, a mexican (somewhat upscale) fast food restaurant chain from down south. It was beef nachos and margaritas all round!


And no trip to Brisbane is complete without a visit to the Pancake Manor on Charlotte St. I thought I could get through a regular stack, but my stomach had had too much pancake-y goodness 2/3rds through. Such a shame to waste good pancakes.

And of course there was the traditional (well, my family’s) Christmas day lunch of cold cuts of chicken and ham, smoked salmon, prawns and salad! The prawns were to die for!

Between eating I spent most of my time with family, meeting a couple of friends, looking at the sky (it’s sooooo pretty in Australia!) and even managed to go to the Gallery of Modern Art.

Unfortunately only a few weeks after I left, Brisbane and a lot of the state was flooded. Thankfully none of my friends or family were badly affected, but the long term effects are going to be difficult for everyone. In fact, financially it will affect the majority of Australians, so if you can spare, please donate to the flood appeal!


Actions

Information

2 responses

31 01 2011
Michael

You are so lucky to be from the beautiful place called Brisbane – one of only a handful of places from where I did not want to return to Tokyo (in 1989). Not only Brisbane, I went all the way up to Cairns & Port Douglas to which I also returned in 2005 for 2 fantastic weeks – an unforgettable vacation that included hiking, meeting crocodiles, big birds and many nice people.
Lucky you, you are going back there…

31 01 2011
yamaonna

I know, it is a wonderful place, but it took living overseas for me to appreciate it! I’m glad you had great times when you visited Australia – and yes, I’m lucky I get to return home there soon! Thanks for commenting again (^-^)v

Leave a Reply

