forced minimalism

24 01 2011

There is so much I’ve been meaning to blog about lately, but just not the time. As I mentioned a few months back, I’m on my final few months at this job, and consequently living in Japan. Which means I have to get rid of almost everything I managed to accumulate in the last 4 years and 3 months. ugh.

Which brings me to minimalism. I have had to (and still am) throw out so much stuff! So far I’ve managed to put together about 8 60L bags of rubbish to be collected, and just one of them was papers! Why oh why do we keep so much stuff?

And there are such hard decisions to make too. For example, should I keep my old computer or send it to PC heaven? So I’ve worked out a system of questions to ask myself about everything.

1) Will I use it in the next 3 months? If yes, keep for the moment, if no –> next question
2) Will I want it in Australia? If yes, send it home with my mother in February, if no –> bin.

And then repeat the process another 1 or 2 times with everything. That way I’m double or triple checking the importance of the item in my life. And to be honest, I’m surprised that my pile of things to return to Australia isn’t that big. (But is mostly made up of Starbucks mugs…)

I think maybe these minimalists have a good idea… I don’t want to ever have to do this again. Talk about stressful! And next, I need to sell/give away my furniture and appliances…. *sigh*


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 01 2011
Michael

Hi,
First, I have been following your blog for several months now and enjoyed every post.
Second, about minimizing and disposing, I have just experienced it myself when I moved. I am not sure where you live but, since you still have some time, you can try selling some of the valuable items through classified that are read (mostly) by foreigners in Japan. One of the most popular is the Metropolis [http://classifieds.metropolis.co.jp/] classified which appears online as well as in several printed magazines).
What is junk for you may be a treasure to somebody else.
In Tokyo (where I live) it costs money to call the ward office and have them come and collect the stuff and by selling, even at a minimum price, you save that and may get something instead.
Good luck and keep up with you interesting posts.

25 01 2011
yamaonna

Thanks for the comment Michael! It’s always surprising and gratifying to hear I have ppl following this blog😀 thanks for reading!

Thanks for the advice re:getting rid of stuff. I’m in Saitama and it’s the same here if you get the city to dispose of things. I’ve got a few options open to me, I’m just waiting to see how it turns out.

Keep tuned, even though I’m only in Saitama for a few more months, I still have big plans in Japan!

Leave a Reply

