Six Months (and not counting)

18 10 2010

Well, it’s official. I’m moving back to Australia sometime next year. I’ve decided not to sign a new contract, so from April I’ll be a free agent. I can’t tell you how much I look forward to not teaching (the little sh*ts).

Actually, my job is still pretty good, and the holidays are still brilliant, but it’s time to move back to the ‘real world’ and get a career. I never wanted to be an English teacher for the rest of my life, and so, I need to start trying for what I want.

Living in Japan for a long period of time has been great. I came (this time) with 3 goals in mind – travel as much of the country as I can, climb Mt Fuji, and pass the Japanese Language Proficiency Test Level 2. I’m pretty happy to say I’ve achieved the first two, and I’m going to make my final attempt of Level 2 in December.

But there are still things I have yet to do. Like go to Ueno Zoo, or Shikoku even… So I made a list (If you haven’t noticed, I like to list things). My 6 month list has a lot on it already, so I won’t bore you with the details, but most things I’ll post about over the next 5 months or so will be things from the list.

For example, the other week I went to the Edo-Tokyo Open Air Architectural Museum. I’ve been meaning to go there for years, and I just lucked out in that on the day I went it was free admission.

The museum is in Kogane park, and contains a number of buildings from Tokyo over the last 200 years or so. In particular, I wanted to go because some of the buildings were used as inspiration for the Studio Ghibli movie Spirited Away. Like the Public Bathhouse –

And the Stationary Store –

But the thing that really struck me was how much I’m going to miss the little details when I leave Japan, like shaped windows and rice paper –

bamboo –

lattice work –

carvings –

and of course gardens –

Although it wasn’t the best examples I’ve seen, the museum was a pleasant day out.  And just enough to satisfy my taste for the Japanese aesthetic.  Check out my other photos on flickr!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

