Brisbane Bites

28 05 2010

Okay, so, I know I’m going to get into trouble for this…  But during golden week I snuck back to Australia for my grandfather’s 90th birthday.  As I didn’t have much time, I only told a couple of friends, so I’m sorry if I missed catching up with anyone who wanted to.  Trust me, my trip was far too short.

Going back to Australia means a few things for me, but eating some of my favourite foods is up there on my to do list.  So here’s what I ate in Australia!

Firstly, the reason for the visit – my grandfather’s birthday cake.  (no, wait…  that’s not quite right….)  The cake is a fruitcake with fondue icing.  We had a friend make it, and she did a brilliant job with our instructions of a ‘cricket theme’.  The bat, stumps, ball, and pads were all made by hand.  She even rolled out liquorice to make the grip on the bat!  And most importantly, it was delish!

We also went down to the Beerwah Pub for lunch, where I had a vegetarian lasagna, and stole some oysters Kilpatrick from my cousin.

Actually, most of my time was spent at Beerwah, where I was spoilt by my mother with a Roast Chicken dinner, and fresh scones.  But during the little time I spent in Brisbane I was taken out to dinner twice by friends.  Firstly was burgers at Grill’d, which live up to their reputation.  Although I had a bacon and cheese burger this time, my all time favourite is the Big Queenslander, because all real burgers should have a slice of beetroot.

The other dinner excursion was to the Satay Hut, a Malaysian restaurant, at Southbank.  We had a set for 2 people which included satay sticks, spring rolls, a curry, garlic vegetables, spicy fried seafood , and all you can eat rice.  It was super tasty, but far too much for us, and we had to ask for a doggy bag.  We also stopped at My Sweetopia to buy some cupcakes to eat later.

That weekend was Buddha’s Birthday, so we saw some of the celebrations at Southbank.  And I took some funky photos🙂

I also had fun with my iPhone driving through Brissy, and you can see some fuzzy (intentionally) shots in my new iPhone folder on flickr.

And apart from seeing my family, and a little shopping, that was my trip to BrisVegas!


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2010
Christina

Happy Bday Grandpa! Yummy Celebration!

29 05 2010
yamaonna

Indeed it was! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

